McBath, Warnock, Chu, Bourdeaux, Williams Introduce Bicameral Resolution Denouncing Anti-Asian Hate After Atlanta Shooting

The bicameral resolution condemns the recent shootings in Atlanta, reaffirming Congress’s commitment to combatting hate against the AAPI community.

March 29, 2021

Marietta, GA — On Thursday, Members of the Senate and House introduced a bicameral resolution condemning the horrific shootings in Atlanta, Georgia. Led by U.S. Senator Reverend Raphael Warnock (D-GA) in the Senate and Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus Chair Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA-27), Representatives Lucy McBath (D-GA-06), Carolyn Bourdeaux (D-GA-07), and Nikema Williams (D-GA-05) from Georgia’s congressional delegation in the House, the resolution reaffirms Congress’s commitment to combating hate and violence directed against the Asian American and Pacific Islander community. 

“Our communities are devastated every single time another family is ripped apart. The pain felt by every person who has been targeted by this violence is excruciating,” said Representative McBath. “The horrific events of recent weeks are just the latest examples of the hate our Asian American brothers and sisters have faced during this pandemic. No member of our community should ever live in fear of discrimination, hatred, or violence. We must condemn hate and protect one another.”

“We must stand against AAPI hate and violence, full stop. I join my colleagues in the Senate and the House in mourning the lives lost in the recent horrific shooting in Atlanta, and condemning the irresponsible and cruel anti-Asian sentiments related to the COVID-19 pandemic that have caused a spike in anti-Asian violence,” said Senator Warnock. “Let me be clear: hate, including hate that hurts and kills members of the Asian-American community, has no place in Georgia—or anywhere in our country.”

“The horrific murders in Georgia this month, which claimed eight lives, six of whom were Asian women, shocked our nation. This was a hate crime, plain and simple. The murderer sought out and targeted Asian owned businesses and specifically, Asian women who are some of our most vulnerable. This mass shooting brought attention to the plague of anti-Asian violence. But this violence has long predated the murders in Georgia. Since the start of the coronavirus pandemic, Asian Americans have reported over 3,800 hate crimes and incidents inspired by misinformation and xenophobic slurs like ‘Chinese virus’ and ‘Kung flu.’ That is why it is so important that all leaders speak out to reject bigotry and violence. “I’m grateful for the support from so many colleagues. Together, we can stop Asian hate” said Representative Chu.

“I am proud to join my colleagues in the House and Senate to speak out against anti-AAPI hate across our country,” said Representative Bourdeaux. “We all have different stories, but together, we are one united nation. An attack on any one individual community is an attack on all communities. While Atlanta continues to mourn for the lives lost in the recent attacks, we know that if we stand together, our light can never be dimmed.”

“People are hurting in the midst of a global pandemic, especially members of our Asian American communities who have experienced intensified anti-Asian discrimination and violence,” said Representative Williams. “Everyone has the right to live without fear of being shot or killed in their workplace or public spaces because of their race, ethnicity, or gender. The horrific Atlanta Spa shootings struck the heart of the Fifth District and the entire Atlanta community. I will always stand up and condemn all forms of violence and bigotry. That is why I am proud to co-sponsor this resolution to stop AAPI hate.”

This resolution is co-sponsored by 32 U.S. Senators, including: Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Ed Markey (D-MA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Bob Casey (D-PA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Jack Reed (D-RI), Bernie Sanders (D-VT), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Diane Feinstein (D-CA), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Patty Murray (D-WA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Chris Coons (D-DE),Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tammy Baldwin (D-MN), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Jon Ossoff (D-GA) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH). 

In the House, the resolution is co-sponsored by 101 U.S. House Representatives, including: Ted W. Lieu (CA-33), Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (MP-AL), Al Green (TX-09), Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-07), Lori Trahan (MA-03), Gerald E. Connolly (VA-11), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07), Andy Kim (NJ03), Mark Takano (CA-41), Haley Stevens (MI-11), Katherine Clark (MA-05), André Carson (IN-07), Derek Kilmer (WA-06), Jim Himes (CT-04), Jackie Speier (CA-14), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Brenda L. Lawrence (MI-14), Deborah Ross (NC-02), Linda T. Sanchez (CA-38), Ilhan Omar (MN-05), Rick Larsen (WA-02), Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32), Suzan K. DelBene (WA-01), Sara Jacobs (CA-53), Jason Crow (CO-06), Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Ritchie Torres (NY-16), Sylvia R. Garcia (TX-29), Raul Ruiz (CA-36), Danny K. Davis (IL-07), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Lloyd Doggett (TX-35), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL), Joe Morelle (NY-25), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Debbie Dingell (MI-12), James P. McGovern (MA-02), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Marilyn Strickland (WA-10), Andy Levin (MI-09), Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20), Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Stephanie Murphy (FL-7), Adam Smith (WA-09), Jesús G. "Chuy" García (IL-04), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. (GA-02), Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. (GA-04), Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Joe Neguse (CO-02), Norma Torres (CA-35), Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30), Peter Welch (VT-AL), David N. Cicilline (RI-01), Alma Adams (NC-12), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), Joyce Beatty (OH-03), Dwight Evans (PA-03), Betty McCollum (MN-04), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), Madeleine Dean (PA-04), Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Anthony Brown (MD-04), John Yarmuth (KY-03), Karen Bass (CA-37), Robert C. "Bobby" Scott (VA-03), Scott Peters (CA-52), Kathy Castor (FL-14), Grace Meng (NY-06), Ami Bera, M.D. (CA-07), Donald S. Beyer Jr. (Va-08), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), Jake Auchincloss (MA-04), Earl Blumenauer (OR-03), David Trone (MD-06), Brendan Boyle (PA-02), Thomas R. Suozzi (NY-03), Elaine Luria (VA-02), Marie Newman (IL-03), Gregory W. Meeks (NY-05), Kaialii Kahele (HI-02), Steven Horsford (NV-04), Jerry McNerney (CA-09), Bobby L. Rush (IL-01), Michael San Nicolas (GU - AL), Doris Matsui (CA-06), Frank Pallone, Jr (NJ-06), Robin Kelly (IL-02), Ed Case (HI-01)

Read the full text of the Senate resolution here and of the House resolution here.