Marietta, GA – Today, Representative Lucy McBath cosponsored bipartisan legislation to award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. military servicemembers who were killed in action in Afghanistan last week. This bipartisan bill, led by Rep. Lisa McClain, is supported by 158 members of the House of Representatives.     

The legislation will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak, and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss. 

“My heart breaks for the United States service members who lost their lives in the attacks on Kabul, and I continue to pray for their families and loved ones across our nation who are grieving such a devastating loss,” said McBath.  “We will always remember the American heroes who bravely stood up to defend the freedoms our nation was founded upon. We owe all those who paid the ultimate sacrifice a debt of gratitude that can never be repaid.”

For the full bill text, click here